Leadership Principle: Own the Future

During my daily commute my mind spins on ideas I’ve mentioned on this blog or ideas that need to be mentioned.  One that has found a seat in my mind, made itself comfortable, and it immediately lights the flame of inspiration in my heart is the following.

The future is ours for the taking if we base our actions on proven principles of the past.

  • If you have passion, others will likely be moved by the reasoning for our actions.  I love to hear WHY people are passionate about the things they do.  Please share your passion with me; light my candle with your fire.
  • If you can clearly explain the principles underlying our actions, others will seriously consider following you.
  • If you can tell a story how this principle has proven successful in times past and how it applies now, others begin to trust and follow you.
  • If on top of all of this you can passionately communicate how YOU have successfully applied this principle in the past, people will trust and follow you.

When we commit ourselves to the proven principles that have demonstrated success in the past we are armed with a power and confidence that very few are familiar with.  We rid ourselves of fear and prepare ourselves to face the chaotic future that will surely come.  We should constantly search for the stories, experiences, historical narratives of others that will help us own the future.  I love the examples of great men and women throughout history, especially those from my family – I want to be like them and know them better.  The more knowledge we gain of the principles of success, the more the future becomes ours for the taking.  This is how we reduce the likelihood of failure.

Questions to consider for comments:

  • Who do you want to be like?  Who is your hero that you want to emulate?
  • What are you passionate about?
  • Who has effectively communicated the depth of what they are passionate about?